SOUTH AFRICA TRIVIA QUIZ



1> How many countries border South Africa?

b. Pieter Botha

d. Thabo Mbeki

c. Kgalema Motlanthe



a. 6 b. 7 c. 5 d. 4
2> The largest stock exchange in Africa is located in which South African city?
a. Cape Town b. Durban c. Pretoria d. Johannesburg
3> What is the busiest port in South Africa?
a. Ngqura b. Cape Town c. Durban d. Port Elizabeth
4> Who was the second post-apartheid President of South Africa after Nelson Mandela ruling from 1999-2008?
a. Jacob Zuma

a. Johannesburg b. Pretoria c. Durban d. Cape Town
6> Which city is the executive capital of South Africa?
a. Pretoria b. Nelspruit c. Cape Town d. Bloemfontein
7> The internet country code top-level domain for South Africa is what?
asf bsa cca dza
8> What is the capital of the Eastern Cape province?
a. Bhisho b. Rustenburg c. East London d. Port Elizabeth
9> Which is both the smallest and most populous province in South Africa?
a. Gauteng b. The Northern Cape

5> What is the largest city in South Africa?

c. KwaZulu-Natal

10> The Constitutional Court of South Africa sits in which city?
a. Cape Town
b. Bloemfontein
c. East London
d. Johannesburg
11> South Africa is made up of how many provinces?
a. 9
b. 5
S. 5

12> Stretching along the South Atlantic and Indian oceans, approximately how long is

d. Limpopo

c. 3 d. 7

South Africa's coast line?

a. 1,050 milesb. 2,550 milesc. 2,050 milesd. 1,550 miles

Answers:

- 1> 6 The countries bordering South Africa are Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho.
- 2> Johannesburg JSE was founded in 1887 after the discovery of gold on the Witwatersrand.
- 3> Durban The third busiest container port in the Southern Hemisphere, the Port of Durban was formerly known as the Port of Natal.
- 4> Thabo Mbeki Mbeki served from 1999-2008, when he resigned.
- 5> Johannesburg Johannesburg is the world's largest city not situated on a river, lake, or coastline.
- 6> Pretoria Within South Africa Pretoria is popularly known as the Jacaranda City due to the thousands of Jacaranda trees planted in its streets, parks and gardens.
- 7> .za .sa is the country code for Saudi Arabia.
- 8> Bhisho Under its former name Bisho, the town was the capital of Ciskei, a territory set aside for black inhabitants of South Africa and South West Africa (now Namibia) as part of the policy of Apartheid.
- 9> Gauteng Gauteng contains the country's largest city, Johannesburg, and its administrative capital, Pretoria.
- 10> Johannesburg Since 2004 the court has occupied a purpose-built complex on Constitution Hill.
- 11> 9 Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, North West, Free State, Kwazulu Natal, Gauteng, Limpopo and Mpumalanga.
- 12> 1,550 miles South Africa is the 25th-largest country in the world.

PAGE PROTECTED BY COPYSCAPE DO NOT COPY

The questions provided on this page and on the Trivia Champ website are for personal use only. **NOT** free for publication in any form including newsletters, applications and/or on websites without prior written permission from TriviaChamp.com

Source: South Africa Trivia Quiz - Trivia Champ.com